2017 Neighbor of the Year

The Fort Worth League of Neighborhoods presented the 2017 Ben Ann Tomayko Neighbor of the Year Award to Rita Vinson at the Mayor’s Neighborhood Awards Luncheon on January 20.

Neighbor of the Year Rita Vinson and Gene Bibb, President FWLNA

Rita lives in the Brentwood – Oak Hills neighborhood where she has been an active volunteer for more than two decades. She was involved with the formation of the Brentwood – Oak Hills Neighborhood Association and served as its first president. She held that office for 12 years and has remained active in association leadership. She is currently the Vice President of Communications. She has been the co-editor of the newsletter for more than 20 years.

Rita was one of five neighborhood leaders that met to organize an alliance of neighborhoods in her area. In 1999, they founded the Neighborhoods of East Fort Worth which has now grown to nineteen neighborhoods.

Rita was elected to the Board of Directors of the Fort Worth League of Neighborhood Associations in 2015 and was elected President of the league in 2016.

Her sustained service to Fort Worth and its neighborhoods shows her dedication to her hometown, where she has lived all her life.



Alyce Boyd Named Neighbor of the Year


The Fort Worth League of Neighborhoods gave its most prestigious award posthumously to Alyce Boyd of Ryanwood Neighborhood Association on Jan. 7, 2017, at the City’s annual Neighborhood Awards luncheon.  Alyce’s long-time friend and neighbor, Charlene Lawrence, accepted a certificate in her behalf and a check for $100 to the Ryanwood Neighborhood Association.

The League’s award is called the 2016 Ben Ann Tomayko Neighbor of the Year award.  It recognizes an individual who demonstrates a high level of support to an individual neighborhood, a group of neighborhoods, or neighbors throughout Fort Worth.  Their spirit of volunteerism may be recognized for work on a single, significant project, a single year, or long-term service to neighborhood(s).  The award is given in memory of the late Ben Ann Tomayko, a co-founder of the League in 1986 and longtime Fort Worth neighborhood advocate.

Eva Bonilla, a past recipient of this award, chaired the awards committee that made the selections and presented the award at the luncheon.  The other finalists were Linda Denison of Heritage Homeowners Association and Fred and Phyllis Anglin of Oakhurst Neighborhood Association.

Alyce Boyd met all—not just one—of those criteria of community engagement.  She devoted the last 22 years of her life to neighborhood advocacy, never slowing down until her health became an issue in the last 2 years.  She and her husband, Obie, moved to Ryanwood neighborhood in 1961. They had been married 54 years at the time of his death in 2008.  She died July 20, 2016.


Neighborhood Support:

In 1994 Alyce became very involved in Ryanwood Neighborhood Association and served as President for 16 years from 1996 to 2012.  In 1998 it received the “Organization of the Year” award from the East Fort Worth Business Association.

In 1997 Alyce joined Ryanwood’s Citizens on Patrol (COPs) team patrolled for many years.  She was a graduate of the Fort Worth Citizens Police Academy.


Eastside Advocacy:

In 1998 and 1999 Alyce served on the Steering Committee/Nominating Committee of the Community Advisory Committee of the Neighborhood Patrol District No. 5 (CAC NPD5.)

In 1999 Alyce and four other presidents of CAC NPD5 met to form a neighborhood alliance they named the Neighborhoods of East Fort Worth.  Soon, they expanded it to include the neighborhood associations north of I-30 in CAC NPD4.  Alyce was a co-sponsor of this group and worked to keep it going for the next 15 years.

Councilmember Danny Scarth appointed Alyce to represent his Eastside District 4 on the City’s Sustainability Committee and on the Parks Board.

Alyce served for 9 years as Executive Secretary of East Fort Worth Business Association, advocating quality business development.

Alyce served as a volunteer for Meals on Wheels.


Citywide Engagement:

In addition to serving on the City’s Sustainability and on the Parks Board, Alyce also served on the board of the Fort Worth League of Neighborhood Associations, completing several terms as Secretary in the early 2000’s.

First and foremost, Alyce was a long-term, dedicated leader and tireless advocate for neighborhood issues at all levels. She fostered a sense of community and belonging with events like National Night Out and with preparation of newsletters and conducting the regular meetings and business of the Ryanwood Neighborhood Association.  She fought for a neighborhood post office and for demolition of substandard apartments. She galvanized support for passage of crucial Multifamily Dwelling and Landscape Ordinances.  For the past 22 years she influenced the direction of residential development, quality business development, stronger zoning and code enforcement, landscaping and beautification, crime prevention and safety.

The Fort Worth League of Neighborhood Associations is proud to recognize Alyce Boyd’s achievements with its Ben Ann Tomayko Neighbor of the Year Award.

Rita M. Vinson
2016 President FWLNA


[See the City of Fort Worth news article for other neighborhood awards.]