2017 Neighbor of the Year

The Fort Worth League of Neighborhoods presented the 2017 Ben Ann Tomayko Neighbor of the Year Award to Rita Vinson at the Mayor’s Neighborhood Awards Luncheon on January 20.

Neighbor of the Year Rita Vinson and Gene Bibb, President FWLNA

Rita lives in the Brentwood – Oak Hills neighborhood where she has been an active volunteer for more than two decades. She was involved with the formation of the Brentwood – Oak Hills Neighborhood Association and served as its first president. She held that office for 12 years and has remained active in association leadership. She is currently the Vice President of Communications. She has been the co-editor of the newsletter for more than 20 years.

Rita was one of five neighborhood leaders that met to organize an alliance of neighborhoods in her area. In 1999, they founded the Neighborhoods of East Fort Worth which has now grown to nineteen neighborhoods.

Rita was elected to the Board of Directors of the Fort Worth League of Neighborhood Associations in 2015 and was elected President of the league in 2016.

Her sustained service to Fort Worth and its neighborhoods shows her dedication to her hometown, where she has lived all her life.